Junior B Championship Final: Nemo Rangers 1-11 White’s Cross 1-6

With the 2006 Junior A title safely in our grasp, the second White’s Cross side endeavoured to make it a Junior Double, but fell at the final hurdle to a very useful Nemo side. White’s Cross were confident going into this game, with convincing earlier round victories and a well-trained panel of players available. No doubt both White’s Cross Junior panels benefited enormously from the fact that each side were involved right up to the finals, as it made for very competitive training sessions, with both panels training together.

However, in this final White’s Cross could not break down the dominance of Nemo in the midfield and half-forward sectors. Captain Padraig Murnane, along with brothers Sean and Breandan, Roy O Driscoll, Derek O Connor, Alfie McEvoy and Philip O Connell battled intensely throughout, to ensure Nemo earned this title. It was a disappointing end to the championship season for this particular team and indeed their efforts warranted greater reward. However, those involved with the Junior A success, earlier in the season, know that such disappointments make victory all the sweeter when it does arrive.

Many of this side did have some compensation for the disappointment two weeks later, as they were involved with Whitechurch hurlers win in the Craobh Rua Cup final. Here we defeated Passage on a 1-15 to 0-6 score-line at Ballinlough.